Pakistan’s Commanding Performance Secures 7-wicket Victory Against Bangladesh

INDIA: Pakistan defeated Bangladesh by 7 wickets in the ICC Men’s World Cup 2023 at Eden Gardens in Kolkata after chasing 205 runs. The Pakistani openers had a fantastic start, but they lost both openers, Fakhar Zaman and Abdullah Shafique, along with captain Babar Azam.

Mehidy Hasan Miraz, who took all the wickets, and Pakistan’s Shaheen Shah Afridi became the newest members of the 100-wicket club on Tuesday. Pakistan now stands in fifth place with six points and a net run rate of -0.024 after their third victory in the competition. As a result of their 2 points and -1.446 NRR, Bangladesh dropped to ninth place.

– Advertisement –

In the World Cup encounter earlier, Pakistan was able to dismiss Bangladesh for a disappointing 204 because of the express pace battery, which was led by Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Choosing to bat, Mahmudullah scored 56 runs off 70 balls, but Bangladesh was unable to gain any traction as they kept losing wickets often. Mehidy Hasan Miraz (25), Shakib Al Hasan (43), and Litton Das (45) were the only hitters to reach double digits.

– Advertisement –

The most productive bowlers for Pakistan were Shaheen Shah Afridi and Mohammad Wasim Jr., with three-wicket hauls; other bowlers who contributed wickets were Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, and Usama Mir.

During the match in Kolkata, fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi claimed his 100th wicket in one-day international cricket. In Agha Salman and Usama Mir, Pakistan made three changes from the team that lost to South Africa in Chennai by one wicket. Fit-again opener Fakhar Zaman was called back.

– Advertisement –

Imam-ul-Haq, who has struggled all through the tournament, and spinner Mohammad Nawaz were also left out. Shadab Khan is still recovering from the concussion he sustained during a fall against South Africa. Zaman had a knee ailment and just participated in his second match of the competition.

Also Read: World Cup 2023: Netherlands Secures Historic 38-run Win over South Africa