India Advances to Semi-Finals with a Mammoth 302-run Victory over Sri Lanka

INDIA: India’s speed attack thrashed Sri Lanka for a pitiful 55 runs thanks to five vital wickets claimed by Mohammed Shami. This is India’s greatest-ever World Cup win, with Mohammed Siraj and Jasprit Bumrah ruining Sri Lanka’s batting while Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, and Shreyas Iyer all contributed significantly with the bat.

Mohammed Shami took four wickets in a row, causing Sri Lanka’s collapse. Charith Asalanka and Dushan Hemantha returned to the pavilion, while Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj combined for four early wickets. Charith Asalanka and Angelo Mathews were attempting to steady the faltering Sri Lankan innings while at the wicket.

India vs Sri Lanka

– Advertisement –

Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to field first, with Rohit Sharma expressing his preference for batting first on his home pitch. The high-scoring stadium provided ample opportunities for runs.

Shubman Gill and Rohit Sharma opened the batting for India as a result of Sri Lanka’s decision. Rohit left the pitch early, with Virat Kohli at the crease in the opening over of the game.

– Advertisement –

In this match, India scored 357/8 against Sri Lanka. The main scorers for the home team were Shreyas Iyer (82), Shubman Gill (92), and Virat Kohli (88). India passed 350 thanks to 35 off 24 balls from Ravindra Jadeja. With stats of five for 80 in ten overs, left-arm pacer Dilshan Madhushanka emerged as Sri Lanka’s most impressive bowler.

Virat Kohli broke the legendary Sachin Tendulkar’s record for the most thousand runs scored in a single year in a One-Day International format. However, he couldn’t equal Sachin’s 49 most ODI hundreds milestone. On Thursday at the Wankhede Stadium during World Cup 2023, Virat passed the 1000-run milestone in the 50-over format against Sri Lanka.

– Advertisement –

India defeated Sri Lanka at the Wankhede Stadium thanks to a brilliant combination of Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, and Shreyas Iyer’s explosive middle overs.

The Asia Cup Final saw the final encounter between IND and SL, and with a 5-wicket haul from Mohammed Siraj, Rohit’s team easily defeated their neighbours.

India, led by Rohit Sharma, has now won seven straight games to remain the only team undefeated in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023. The Men in Blue made history by being the first side to advance to the semi-finals.

Also Read: World Cup 2023: Afghanistan Triumphs Over Pakistan with 8-wicket Victory

Originally posted 2023-11-02 18:00:31.